Erasmus+ Study: programme, requirements and destinations

By taking part in the Erasmus+ Programme, you can spend part of your university career studying in another EU or non EU country, gaining a unique and culturally enriching experience.

What is it and what does it offer?

The Erasmus+ Programme is an EU funded mobility programme allowing you to spend between three and twelve months at a European or non European university.

You can attend courses, sit exams and earn credits for your studies.

You will receive a grant from the Erasmus+ Programme to help you cover your costs.
As an Erasmus+ student, not only will you earn credits for your learning activities, but you will be also exempted from paying tuition fees at your host university (but not at your home university) and you will have access to all the services the host university offers its own students.

Where can you go?

There are around 600 universities in the countries of destination:

  • in any of the 27 European Union Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden;
  • in the 3 countries of the European Economic Area: Island, Liechtenstein and Norway;
  • in the accession candidate countries: Turkey, the Republic of Macedonia;
  • in some non-EU countries participating in the Erasmus+ Programme;
  • the United Kingdom, which, although no longer EU Member State, continues to participate in the current 2014-2020 Erasmus+ programme.

The list of partner universities where students can spend a mobility period is updated every year, thus it is available only once the call for application is published.

Who can take part?

  1. Anyone regularly enrolled at the University of Bologna.
  2. Anyone who, in previous years and during previous studies at the University of Bologna or any other Italian or foreign university, has not been on Erasmus, Erasmus Placement or Mundus Actions 1 and 2 programmes for more than 12 months (24 months for single cycle) for the degree cycle they are enrolled in and in which they will undertake their mobility studies.
  3. You are NOT entitled to an Erasmus+ grant if you are either receiving an EU mobility grant to study abroad or grants allocated from the Unibo funds available for mobility periods abroad.