Erasmus+ Mobility for Traineeships: What is it and how to apply

Erasmus+ Mobility for traineeships is the EU-promoted student mobility programme which gives students a chance to broaden their vocational and training curriculum by working abroad in any public sector company or a private commercial enterprise located in European countries that have joined the Erasmus+ Programme. The Erasmus+ Mobility for traineeships Call for applications is published every year by the University of Bologna.


Due to the Coronavirus health emergency, Test’s for participation in international mobility programmes planned within April 2020 have been cancelled. Please, see the page “Language requirements”.
A second call for application will be published in June 2020 for the allocation of mobility grants still available after the end of this selection procedure. Tests for participation in international mobility programmes at the University Language Centre will be held in October and departures will be allowed from January 2021.

How to apply

Within the Erasmus + Mobility for traineeship scheme a.y. 2020/21, a call is issued for applications to do two/three-month paid traineeships in European Union countries.

To take part in the Call you must:

Lenght of traineeship and financial contributions

The duration of traineeships under this programme is from 2 to 12 months and students may receive a EU grant up to a maximum of 3 months.

Where can you go

The countries of destination are:

  • the 26 European Union Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, the Czech Republic, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Hungary;

  • the 3 Countries of the European Economic Area: Island, Liechtenstein and Norway;

  • the accession candidate countries: Turkey, the Republic of Nord Macedonia, Serbia;

  • the United Kingdom, which, although no longer EU Member State, continues to participate in the current 2014-2020 Erasmus+ programme.

Who can take part?

Students enrolled in first, second, third cycle degree programme and single-cycle degree programme, who can carry out the traineeship before or after graduation.